Blazing My Own Path

My first year of college is in the books. As a result of my grades, I was offered a chance to join the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. However, something didn’t sit right with me. Would these people have been interested in my pedestrian 3.2 high school GPA? Or my average score of 22 on the ACT? I don’t think so. I got to this point on my own. I’m not saying having high grades makes me smart, because that simply isn’t true. Grades aren’t a reflection of intelligence. But, I did work hard to achieve my high grades on my own, and now when I’ve reached the top, I’m just supposed to let people in on my journey? I think not. Those who saw what I could be will be with me at the top, not others who want to be there after the struggle. Am I grateful for the offer? Of course! Apparently only 10 percent of college students receive offer, but what percentage of that ten turns the society down? My guess is not many. I took the road less traveled as Robert Frost would say, and now I’m supposed to go onto the road often traveled? No, it would go against every fiber in my being, and destroy my soul that I’ve worked so hard on improving. So I will continue down this road being a trailblazer, because I know it is and will make all the difference. 

-LR

Leave a comment